Joe McEvilly Sextet

Sunday 08 Dec, 2019

Paris Cat Jazz Club presents a new ensemble led by composer, saxophonist and pianist Joe McEvilly. With an instinct for evocative melodies and unplaceable harmonies, Joe’s compositions uncoil over slinking, hard-edged grooves. Taking inspiration from European jazz stalwarts like EST and Kenny Wheeler, this project promises a sweeping suite of new music, cool and warm in equal measure.

Cheryl Durongpisitkul - Saxophone
Tom Sly - Trumpet
Stephen Hornby - Double Bass
Lewis Pierre-Humbert - Drums
Stella Anning - Guitar

As the founder and musical director of Movement 9, Joe McEvilly is the composer and arranger behind projects such as Wings (**** — Weekend Australian) and We May Never Meet Again (“Absolutely brilliant” – Canberra Times). Joe is an Australian Jazz Real Book composer and his work Hitchcock was featured on the ABC Jazz release “Jazz Calls: Best of Australian Jazz 2017”.